Wait, Bloc Party Are Back?

Yup, Bloc Party are back, and they’re about to release their sixth studio album, Alpha Games.

Alpha Games is the first BP release since 2016’s Hymns, and it’s their first album without the original rhythm section lineup of Matt Tong and Gordon Moakes. Which is interesting, because the new single sounds more Bloc Party than anything we’ve heard from Bloc Party in a long-ass time. The new album and lineup notably feature Louise Bartle on drums, who toured with the band 2016 and, from what I’m hearing on the new single (above), is largely responsible for breathing new life into the Bloc Party sound. ‘From the moment we wrote “Traps”, we knew it had to be the first thing people heard from this album,’ said lead singer Kele Okereke in a statement. ‘Playing it in soundchecks on our last tour before it was finished and hearing how it sounded in those big rooms and outdoors.’

Alpha Games is being worked out by the legendary production duo Nick Launay and Adam Greenspan (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and IDLES among others) and will be out April 29, 2022.

Sign up for the Monster Children Newsletter