New Music Brings High Hopes

September almost went out on a real high, didn’t it?

A few days ago, it looked like the world was finally going to shed itself of that 300 pound canker sore some rednecks like to call the president of the United States. But now, things aren’t looking so certain. Of course, I’ll happily eat my words if tomorrow we awake to news of an impeachment, but right now, I’ve a sinking feeling it’s just going to be business as usual. Alas, let us keep our spirits high with the promise of new beginnings, new possibilities, and new music. Here’s the best of the latter.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi – Dissolution

Finnish pysch-pop artist Jaakko Eino Kalevi is back with a new mini-album of seven songs, and this here is the title track. Had old #45 been dethroned today, ‘Dissolution’ would have been quite the aptly titled party starter. Regardless, it’ll still get your hips moving. Jaakko’s EP is set for release on November 22nd via Weird World.

The Growlers – Pulp of Youth

Poignant songs about growing older are really resonating with me at the moment, and The Growlers have definitely turned the nostalgia dial up high with their new single, ‘Pulp of Youth.’ And like pretty much every other song they’ve ever released, it’s a vibe. Their upcoming LP, Natural Affair, drops October 25 on their own label.

Sudan Archives – Confessions

Everything about Sudan Archives new track, ‘Confessions’, just works. The off-kilter beat, the striking violin, the warm harmonies, the captivating music video. It’s all just one giant yep from me. The violinist, singer-songwriter and producer is set to drop her debut record, Athena, on November 1.

Divino Niño – Quiero

If various species of bilingual flowers singing over the top of tropical psychedelic sound waves doesn’t put you in high spirits, I don’t know what will. Divino Niño’s two songwriters—Camilo Medina and Javier Forero—first met as kids in Bogotá, Colombia, before reuniting in Miami years later. They now live, write and record in Chicago, and their new album, FOAM, came out about nine hours ago.

Spencer. – Automatic

This song is so smooth on the soul it should come with complimentary shoe grip. Around this time last year, the 20-year-old R&B artist dropped out of college to pursue his music career, and if this new track is anything to go off, I’d say it was the best decision he’s ever made. All eyes on 2020 for a rumoured debut release.

Tei Shi feat. Blood Orange – Even If It Hurts

Earlier this week, Colombian-Canadian artist Valerie Teicher (aka Tei Shi) released the slick third single from her upcoming sophomore album, La Linda, set for release on November 15. Here, she’s teamed up with the captain of cool, Dev Hynes (aka Blood Orange), and it’s the kind of collab we didn’t know we needed until now.

Cherry Glazerr feat. Portugal. The Man – Call Me

Excuse this cute little Bandcamp player I’ve embedded here, but this song is so new that it’s yet to be uploaded to YouTube but also too good to be left out of this compilation. How primo is that bassline? How sweet are Clementine Creevy and John Gourley‘s vocals together? How could you not call them after hearing this?

Sign up for the Monster Children Newsletter