Discovering Mullumbimby’s Mysterious Drug Cult

Photos by James Adams

“I’d say they sound like dark purple rain falling into the windscreen of a driverless coal train travelling across the country.”

That’s how photographer James Adams describes the music of four-piece occultist doom collective, Drug Cult, to us. And he’s not wrong. Comprised of guitarist Vin Steele, vocalist Aasha Tozer, drummer Dale Walker, and bassist Maggie Schreibe, Drug Cult has been brewing since 2015, but it’s only in recent times that the inner workings of the covert band have been cracked wide open.

How does a band who’s never released anything or performed live still manage to get signed to UK label Ritual Production? Well, give their debut track “Mind Crypt” a watch above and you might just find out. Fuzz-drenched riffs wind their way through the band’s debut offering, complimented by a doomy yet atmospheric music video directed by Jack Bailey. With an entrance like this one, you can be sure we’ll be keeping a close eye on all the stirrings from camp Cult from now on.

Stay up to date with latest from Drug Cult, here.

Sign up for the Monster Children Newsletter